Food, Fun, NYC, savory, Uncategorized

Improvised Stuffed Peppers

Since there were not many ingredients at the store due to the high demand before the storm, I made an improvised stuffed pepper.  Also lets be honest it’s all about making a meal with ingredients you like or already have on hand.  In this case I bought and roasted red peppers in a 400 degree oven cut side up for 10 minutes.

IMG_4335

sauté in the front and simmer in back

Sauté onions, mushrooms, and kale set aside.  In another pot cook 1C quinoa with 2C water and seasoning to taste (I used chili powder and salt).  Combine cooked quinoa with mushroom mixture and sprinkle in cilantro.  Sauté ground meat (I used turkey) and once cooked stir in 1 jar of salsa (I prefer Pace hot).  Combine all ingredients and stuff in pepper.  Top with cilantro and serve.

Better yet I combined all the veggie scraps I used throughout the day to make a simple vegetable stock!  I just kept adding to the pot and let simmer a few hours before straining and portioning into separate containers.

IMG_4336

Standard

One thought on “Improvised Stuffed Peppers

Leave a Reply

