Breakfast, Food, Fun, NYC, recipe, savory

Spaghetti Squah crust quiche

Spaghetti Squash Quiche 2 ways

Quiche #1: Tofu Boo to the Avian FluIMG_3496

Thanks to the Avian Flu in Chickens, egg prices have skyrocketed and unlike past price increases, this one seems to linger.  Supposedly the flu cannot pass between humans and chickens so we are not at risk but nonetheless I cannot eat eggs daily at these prices.  I thought it would be fun to experiment with a “different” way to make eggs.  I have tried tofu as egg replacements so I gave it a try in this eggless quiche.  I based this recipe off of three different websites as well as the ingredients I could find in my pantry and fridge at the time.

Crust

  • Spaghetti Squash (about 3C or 1 small)

    tofu quiche parmesan sprinkle

    tofu quiche parmesan sprinkle

  • salt/pepper

Filling

  • 1 19oz block of tofu, drained
  • 3 cloves minced garlic
  • 1t tahini (or hummus)
  • 1/4t turmeric
  • rosemary (1t fresh or 1/2t dried)
  • 1/4C milk (I used almond)
  • salt/pepper
  • chopped chili (optional)
  • 1T cornstarch (or other thickener)

*Above is the basic recipe.  I did not have much veggies to add in, but ideally stir roasted vegetables to the tofu puree

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees

    tofu slice

    tofu slice

  2. Prepare spaghetti squash.  My simple way of doing so is to poke it several times with a knife or fork and microwave 4 minutes, turn and microwave another 4 minutes.  Cut in half and scoop out seeds when cool enough to handle.  Use a fork to pull out squash and press into a greased pie dish.
  3. Combine all filling ingredients in a blender (I used an immersion blender).  Mine was the consistency of a thick pancake batter.  Fold mixture into veggies (I only had a bit of red peppers, onions, and a half a can of diced tomatoes).
  4. Pour over crust and top with cheese (optional).  I topped mine with 1/2-3/4C shredded parmesan.
  5. Bake 40 minutes or until crust is brown (why I like the glass pie dish) and tofu mixture is set.

Quiche #2 Healthy Egg White Dump QuicheIMG_3754

I call this a “dump quiche” because it is similar to a dump cake where you combine all the ingredients in a bowl and bake it.  I used the same format as above with the crust and combined some leftover sautéed veggies(brussels sprouts and broccoli) and chicken sausage with eggs (I used a carton of whites but feel free to use whole eggs).  I did not go off of a recipe on this one just simply an idea.  It is hard to mess up this recipe unless it is over or under seasoned.  I seasoned mine with salt, pepper, curry powder, and cayenne pepper.  I topped it with a bit of freshly grated parmesan cheese.

 

sprinkling of parmesan

sprinkling of parmesan

stand alone slice

stand alone slice

Standard

One thought on “Spaghetti Squah crust quiche

Leave a Reply

