Food, recipe, savory

Sur La Table’s Cold Noodle Salad

Cold Vietnamese Noodle Salad 

Fancy cooking club prepping

Fancy cooking club prepping

I am so excited to share the first recipe taken to the fancy cooking club we started my apartment building.  One of my favorite ways to spend a cold or rainy afternoon is in a cooking class.  I am lucky enough to have a Sur La Table on the same street and when classes are on sale for 50% off… I am first to sign up.  The latest class prepared a cold vermicelli (or rice noodle) salad for summer.  When I reviewed the recipe, it showed a few differences which I wanted to try to take advantage of.

My changes:I used soy sauce instead of fish sauce (although I made it with fish sauce the second time around), brown rice noodles which I have never seen before, I spiralized my cucumber which I highly recommend, and I used red pepper flakes as I couldn’t locate pickled bird chiles, I subbed white wine vinegar for rice wine vinegar, and I added 2 garlic cloves to the vinaigrette.  The second time making the dish, I ended up buying fish sauce and rice vinegar which enhanced the flavors dramatically.

Directions:IMG_3257

Bring a large pot of water to a boil and remove from heat.  Add 1/2 package rice noodles (6oz) and let sit 6 minutes before draining.  Toss in 2t sesame oil and salt/pepper.  Set in fridge.

Whisk together 1-2T water with 1-2T brown sugar (2nd time I used honey) until dissolved.  Add 2T fish sauce (or soy), 2T rice wine vinegar, 2T fresh minced ginger, 4T lime juice, 1/2t red pepper flakes, and 2 minced garlic cloves.

Combine the salad ingredients which can be altered according to taste.  I used 1 spiralized cucumber, 2 shredded carrots, 1 diced red pepper, 1/3-1/2C of basil, cilantro and mint.  mix in vinaigrette.

For combining the salad.  lay several bibb lettuce leaves on a platter or bowl.   Top with noodles, then the dressed veggies, and finally 3/4C chopped salted peanuts.IMG_3180

Review: This recipe includes a lot of ingredients and is a very delicate dish that cannot be frozen or stay out too long.  The flavors are great and I would recommend topping it with a protein to make a complete dish but it is definitely one to try.  I like that I didn’t need to use the oven and very little on the stovetop.  It also presents itself well.

Standard

Leave a Reply

