Food, Fun, Ohio, recipe, savory

Accidentally Amazing Market Salad

IMG_3072I actually thought I missed the mark huge on this recipe and was pleasantly surprised with my mistakes.  I was a little distracted with all the family and guests in Ohio I made  few huge blunders that turned out excellent!  First I bought green split peas on accident and thought they were a great substitution to the lentils.  I also added 2T (instead of 2 teaspoons) mustard and it was flavored perfectly.  The last thing I omitted were the white onions as I caramelized them all and there was no need to go to the store again.  The fennel added enough sharp zing the salad needed after combining.

Ingredients

1 cup green split peas, sorted and rinsed

1 bay leaf

3 Tbs. olive oil

2 Tbs. red wine vinegar

2 cloves garlic, minced (2 tsp.)

2 T Dijon mustard

½ tsp. dried dill

3 celery stalks, finely diced (1 cup)

1 cup peeled and diced cucumber

⅓ cup finely diced fennel bulb

½ cup frozen corn, thawed

IMG_30731. Cook split peas according to the package with bay leaf and set in refrigerator to cool.

2. Whisk together oil, vinegar, garlic, mustard, and dill in bowl. Stir in lentils, celery, cucumber, fennel, corn, and onion. Season with salt and pepper.

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

