Food, Fun, NYC, recipe, savory

Turkey Burgers

IMG_2691

spiralized zucchini getting a light saute

Turkey Burgers over Spiralized Zucchini

raw burgers ready for cooking

raw burgers ready for cooking

I found the original recipe on Skinnytaste, then adapted it to my taste and ingredients.  Since I still have fresh ginger, I decided to mince it along with the garlic.  I used sweet potato as my main binder eliminating my previous disaster where I had eggs leaking out of the burger.  I ended up adding Worcestershire sauce to add oomph as I could not test for flavor before cooking.  My only regret is not cooking on a real grill, but I got my grilling fix on a trip to Ohio where grilling was the main cooking method three nights in a row.

I also ate the burgers over spiraled zucchini using my Vegetti which I have loved experimenting.  I have noticed that carrots and sweet potatoes can sometimes be hard to spirals as they are so dense; however zucchini and cucumbers are great (although a cucumber with too many seeds can be quite a problem).

IngredientsIMG_2692 IMG_2686

  • 1lb lean ground turkey
  • 1tsp soy sauce
  • 1 tsp minced ginger
  • 1 tsp minced garlic
  • 1 grated carrot
  • 1 grated zucchini
  • salt/ pepper
  • 1 cube of frozen chopped chili pepper
  • 1 medium sized sweet potato
  • 1 tsp worcestershire sauce
Standard

2 thoughts on “Turkey Burgers

  1. schmardt says:

    so this is a cooked sweet potato diced up to add into the ground meat?
    Also have you come up with a way that your zucchini pasta doesn’t weap so much water after being heated up as a side or a pasta replacement?

    • I did not elaborate but the sweet potato is actually either boiled or simply microwaved and when slightly cool, the skin can easily be peeled. It can then be more evenly distributed throughout the turkey mixture. The “zoodles” tend to do best when salted and set in a colander to strain out some of the juices. When they are sautéed they will release some liquid which quickly is vaporized by the heat of the skillet.

Leave a Reply

