Food, Fun, NYC, recipe, Sweets

Chocolate Chip Ground Peanut Cookie

I figured I would continue on a cookie trend with the simple yet ever so complicated chocolate chip cookie.  There are so many variables and everyone seems to prefer their cookies different some like them loaded with chocolate, I do not.  Some like them small and crunchy, I do not.  you get the point.  Well in this case I had some extra peanuts I ground up to add to the batter.  I was not the most impressed with the recipe as the one on the back of the Toll House chocolate bag seems to do me well, but it tasted great with a few changes from the New York Times original recipe.

INGREDIENTS

My favorite snack!

My favorite snack!

•6 ounces (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter

•1 packed cup light brown sugar

•½ cup granulated sugar

•2 teaspoons vanilla extract

•2 large eggs

•2 ¼ cups all-purpose flour

•1 teaspoon baking powder

•½ teaspoon baking soda

•1 cup semisweet chocolate chunks

•1 cup salted peanuts

PREPARATION

I pushed the rounded tops slightly

I pushed the rounded tops slightly

1Using a microwave oven or in a small saucepan, melt butter. Allow it to cool for about 5 minutes. In a medium bowl, using an electric mixer or by hand, beat together the butter, brown sugar, and granulated sugar. Beat in vanilla, eggs, flour, baking powder and baking soda. Fold in chocolate morsels and peanuts (which I ground up into a powder).

2Refrigerate bowl of cookie dough for 20 minutes. Meanwhile, heat oven to 350 degrees. Line a large baking sheet (or two) with a nonstick liner or parchment paper.

3Shape chilled dough into fat disks about 2 1/2 inches in diameter and 1/2-inch thick (slightly less

the cooked cookie

the cooked cookie

than 3 tablespoons of dough for each cookie).  I used an ice cream scoop leveled off then sprinkled with sugar to get a crisp exterior.

Place cookies on baking sheet 1 1/2 inches apart. Bake until golden brown around edges and cracked and chewy in middle, about 15 minutes. If using two sheets, switch position of sheets halfway through baking. Remove cookies from oven while they are still soft in center or they will lose their chewiness as they cool.

4Allow cookies to rest on baking sheets for about 3 minutes before transferring them to wire racks to cool.

The money shot

The money shot

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

