Food, Fun, NYC, recipe, savory

Working with Dumplings 2- Veggie Sui Mai

This recipe comes from a Global Kitchen cookbook I own.  I thought it would have manageable, easy recipes, but I have found that they are awfully tricky.  I made use of the wonton/ spring roll wrappers I used in the potstickers recipe.

What I learned: Gyoza skins are extremely difficult to work with and without a bamboo steamer I would not recommend this recipe.

What I liked: They mixture had  great flavor balance of sweet apples, crisp cabbage, and a hit of ginger.

Ingredients

some of the better looking dumplings atop the cookbook page

some of the better looking dumplings atop the cookbook page

  • 2T chopped cilantro (I used a bit more)
  • 2 green onions chopped
  • 1 minced garlic clove
  • 1- 1/2 inch piece of ginger peeled and minced
  • 1 C sliced cabbage (I reserved a cup of undressed carrots, red, and green cabbage from the cole slaw)
  • 1/2 c peeled finely diced granny smith apple
  • 1T soy sauce
  • 2tsp mirin (or 2tsp of white wine and a pinch of sugar)
  • 1/4tsp sriracha (I used a bit more)
  • salt
  • 1 egg white
  • 6 oz drained tofu finely crumbled
  • gyoza skins (spring roll wrappers)
  • cabbage leaves for steaming
  • 2 tsp of sesame oil for drizzling

Directions

Place all ingredients through the tofu and mix in a bowl.  The book says to place all in a food processor, but I hand mixed mine.

Place one gyoza skin at a time and fill with 1T of the mixture.  Use water to seal edges.  I cut one large square into four parts and brought all four corners to the center.  There should be an opening at the top.

Steam in a bamboo basket in batches lined with cabbage leaves about 9 minutes or until skins become translucent and middle sets.  As noted this is much more difficult than it looks and I know pictures did not come out great but here are my results.

two cooked bites

two cooked bites

Standard

Leave a Reply

