Food, Fun, NYC, recipe, savory

Quick Homemade Ketchup

Condiments can be inexpensive but also loaded with unnecessary ingredients, preservatives, and high fructose corn syrup.  I thought it would be a fun challenge to make my own ketchup with simple spices I had in my pantry.  Although there are many methods and I am sure using fresh tomatoes would taste best, I went for a more convenient route while still considering it homemade.  I also attempted at mustard, but that is much trickier as the temperature of the water mixed in with the mustard powder created a chemical reaction that creates the spice level #fail.

IngredientsIMG_2432

  • 6oz tomato paste
  • 2T apple cider vinegar
  • 1/4t dry mustard
  • 1/3C water
  • 1/4t cinnamon
  • 1/4t salt
  • pinch of allspice
  • 1/8t cayenne pepper

Simply combine and refrigerate overnight for the flavors to develop.

ketchup with baked wedges

ketchup with baked wedges

Now as far as pairing the ketchup with something interesting, I chose polenta fries.  I also decided to make a semi-homemade version using a tube of polenta as opposed to a box of cornmeal which just eliminates one step to the process.  Simply cut the log’s cross-section then slice into 8 wedges before placing on a baking sheet for 20 minutes in a 450 degree oven flipping halfway through.  I also sautéed them in a coating of olive oil in a frying pan and found that method much more appetizing.

ketchup and pan seared fries

ketchup and pan seared fries

Standard

Leave a Reply

