Food, Fun, NYC, recipe, savory

Hot and Spicy Chicken Cream Cheese Dip

I decided to make a variation on the shrimp dip with the leftover cream cheese and green onions.  I was also inspired by one of my favorite dips (I call “crack dip”) which combines 1 lb sausage with a can of Rotel (diced tomatoes) and a block of cream cheese (8oz).  I decided to make a variation with chicken.  Since all I had on hand was a can of plain diced tomatoes, I added a hefty 2-3T of Franks Red Hot sauce, a dash of cumin, and ground red pepper.  I added the leftover green onions from the shrimp dip as well because it is one of those annoying items you must buy in a bunch and only need one or two.  Turned out great and all the ingredients came from my freezer and pantry!

IngredientsIMG_2236

  • 2 pieces of chicken breast (1/2 lb)
  • 2-3T chopped green onions
  • 1/2 can diced tomatoes
  • 1t cumin
  • 3-4T Franks hot sauce
  • 2oz cream cheese

Directions

Sear chicken 2 minutes on each side before adding all ingredients except the cream cheese.

IMG_2237

After swirling in cream cheese

Pull chicken into bits with two forks once cooked throughout about 5 more minutes.

Remove pan from heat and stir in cream cheese.

Serve hot with tortilla chips.

Standard

Leave a Reply

