Dining, Food, Fun, recipe, savory

Cauliflower Shepherd’s Pie

After a wonderful Thanksgiving in Denver, I am back in NYC and ready to cook.  There were a few snags when my oven broke and I had to order and install a new one before cooking again.  While in Denver I made a delicious Shepherd’s Pie.   It is not a cottage pie unless it has beef or mutton.  Shepherd’s pie must have lamb and is encrusted in potatoes.   In this case to avoid lactose (and because I like the flavor better) I chose a cauliflower puree to encrust the mixture.  I was coming straight from a flight and used no recipe so it is all from memory.

INGREDIENTS

  • 1lb Lamb Shoulder diced
  • 1.5C frozen peas
  • 1 onion diced
  • 1 container of mushrooms (or any veggie you prefer)
  • olive oil
  • 1 carrot, diced
  • 1 stalk of celery 
  • herbs of choice (oregano, thyme, and rosemary)
  • roasted garlic
  • 1 head of cauliflower
  • milk of choice (I used almond) for pureeing the cauliflower

Directions

  1. Set broiler on high
  2. Brown lamb in sauté pan and boil or steam cauliflower in water.
  3. Place lamb in baking dish and remove some of the fat.  Sauté onion, carrot, and celery 5-10 minutes
  4. Puree cauliflower with salt, pepper, and almond milk until it reaches a mashed consistency.
  5. Add herbs of choice to the aromatics, I used oregano, thyme, and rosemary.  Add peas and lamb.
  6. Place lamb mixture in baking dish and cover with cauliflower puree and sprinkle with rosemary if desired.
  7. Broil 5-10 minutes.  I will admit I did not have the patience to broil long enough so I took it out early as all the ingredients were already cooked.
IMG_1636

lamb cooking and cauliflower softening

IMG_1637

lamb layer

IMG_1638

pre-baked

plated pie and salad (it's blurry I know)

plated pie and salad (it’s blurry I know)

 

our Thanksgiving feast

our Thanksgiving feast

I had so many things to be thankful for this year and was so glad to be in Denver (although the altitude was not my best friend).  This below is a picture of some of our feast from Thursday where I cooked alongside a professional chef.  Some of my favorites were the homemade bread and pepper jelly, and the sweet potato ginger soup.  Now that I think about it, some of the Thanksgiving leftovers could be used to make…

Turkey Leftover Shepherd’s Pie

 

 

Standard

2 thoughts on “Cauliflower Shepherd’s Pie

Leave a Reply

