Food, Fun, recipe, Sweets

UN-healthy Heath recipes

More baking ensued to end my time in Florida.  I divided a bag of heath between two recipes.

First, I made a chocolate Heath Bit and Reese’s Pieces blondie which was tasty, but can be improved as the toffee hardens even the most underbaked blondie.  Then came the toffee brown sugar cookies.  Although I did not have a mixer to properly cream the butter and sugar together, they turned out great.   I started with the traditional chocolate chip cookie recipe then made a few revisions.  First, I subbed 1/4C brown sugar for white sugar.  I also added a tsp of cinnamon and an extra egg yolk, and used half butter and half crisco. I also only had baking powder so I omitted baking soda and used more baking powder.  Oh yeah I also added some oats in place of 1/2C flour.  I scooped them out by the tablespoon and undercooked them to only 9 minutes.  One thing to remember when baking with toffee is that it hardens as it rests so be sure to undercook!  Okay so I made a lot of revisions but they were still great.

IMG_1587 IMG_1586

The blondie recipe was a little more exact with the substitution of butter flavored crisco and a little underbaked, I was a happy camper.  I believe I referenced this Hershey’s recipe and subbed the chocolate chips with Reese’s Pieces and toffee bits

Ingredients

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup (1-1/2 sticks) butter or margarine, softened
  • 1-1/2 cups packed light brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tablespoons milk (I used almond)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 cups (12-oz. pkg.) HERSHEY’S Mini Chips Semi-Sweet Chocolate

    Directions

    1. Heat oven to 350°F. Line a 8X8 in pan with parchment paper

    2. Stir together flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Beat butter and brown sugar in large bowl until light and fluffy. Add eggs, milk and vanilla; beat well. Gradually add flour mixture, beating well. Stir in small chocolate chips. Spread in prepared pan.

    3. Bake 25-30 minutes or until lightly browned. Cool in pan on wire rack. It may seem underbaked but do not panic!

    IMG_1550
    IMG_1548 IMG_1547

    Standard

    5 thoughts on “UN-healthy Heath recipes

    1. Hi Ashley! I tried to leave a comment earlier. I was so excited to receive your cookies in the mail! We came home to them after a road trip to CT and passed through NY (I could have waved.) My family dug into the cookies as soon as we walked into the house. You did a beautiful job. Thanks so much!

      • Ah thanks! I think the only thing I would have done differently is a little less chocolate chips than the recipe calls for. Let me know if you come to the city maybe we can take a cooking class together!

    Leave a Reply

    