Food, Fun, recipe, Sweets

Ooey Gooey Cookie

Since I am taking part in this years Food Blogger Cookie Swap (http://www.fbcookieswap.com), I figured it is time to practice my cookie baking skills.  This cookie is a take off of the St. Louis original Gooey Butter Cake which includes a cakey layer with a buttery custard top.  They traditionally include cream cheese and a dusting of powdered sugar.  I started these cookies out with simply a yellow cake mix, however I think I would have benefitted including a lemon cake or glaze on top.  I am also going to attempt to make a chocolate version next week.

IngredientsIMG_1396

  • 1 box yellow cake mix
  • 1 8oz brick of cream cheese, softened
  • 1 sick (1/2c) butter, softened
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4c confectioners sugar

Directions

  1. mix butter, cream cheese and egg in a bowl (this is a moment I wish I had a mixer).
  2. Stir in cake mix and refrigerate a few hours
  3. Roll into balls (I found they are best 1tbsp size)
  4. Generously coat in powdered sugar
  5. Bake at 350 degrees for 9 minutes- Most recipes call for 10-12 but in order to get the obey gooey effect go for 9
  6. Dust with additional powdered sugar

IMG_1399

Standard

3 thoughts on “Ooey Gooey Cookie

Leave a Reply

