Food, Fun, recipe, savory

Chicken Lentil Salsa Soup

The Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap 2014

Exciting News! I will be taking part in The Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap this year!  I signed up today to send a dozen cookies to three other bloggers.  I must send cookies I have never made before…hmmm time to get thinking.

Since I have been a bit preoccupied rehearsing, I have been doing very little innovative cooking.  I was able to whip up some soup for lunches using as few ingredients as possible since I do not have access to my spice rack.  Last week I made a pulled chicken and lentil salsa soup and this week a quinoa chicken and veggie stew.  They both turned out great so here are the results.

Pulled Chicken and Lentil and Salsa Soup

chicken ready to be pulled

chicken ready to be pulled

  • 1 bag of frozen veggies ( I chose broccoli)
  • 1-1.5 lb raw chicken breast tenders
  • 1 C green lentils (uncooked)
  • 3 celery stalks
  • 3 carrots
  • 1 28oz can diced tomatoes
  • 1/2 jar of salsa (my favorite is Pace Hot)

Directions

sauté the carrots, celery, and lentils for 5 minutes

add remaining ingredients along with a few (3-4) cups of water

cover and let simmer 30 minutes

remove chicken and pull between two forks

 

the complete soup

the complete soup

Standard

Leave a Reply

