Food, Fun, NYC, recipe, savory

Topless Grain Salad

This one is titled the “topless grain salad” to allow endless possibilities to eat the salad.  I brought a dish to a small gathering and left three options to add on top instead of mixing them in so the guests could pick based on what they were in the mood for that evening.  I made a base of cooked and cooled quinoa and farro, one large red pepper, parsley, salt/pepper, olive oil, lemon, and garlic in a bowl.  The “toppers” included pomegranate seeds, feta cheese, and toasted walnuts.  I noticed the only adjustment I would have made was to add more acidity (vinegar or lemon) which is what brings me to tomorrows post where I solve the problem.

Note: I chose the ingredients based on what I found at the Union Square Farmers Market that morning.IMG_1166

Standard

2 thoughts on “Topless Grain Salad

  1. yes in fact I used store bought crushed garlic in this one however I ended up making a chimichurri sauce to use as a flavor booster where I used fresh cloves in which case the garlic in the salad could be completely eliminated from the salad base

Leave a Reply

