Food, Fun, NYC

Cookie Butter Puppy Chow

I needed to make something quick and transportable to Mary’s clothes swap party so I thought muddy buddies/trash (because some mix it in a trash bag)/ puppy chow would do the trick.  It only takes a few ingredients and is a quick recipe I could place in a few tupperware containers and it would not taste different when left out for potentially hours at a party.  I also knew I had to change the original recipe in order for it to be blogworthy so I simply replaced the butter and peanut butter with speculoos (or Cookie Butter if your a TJ’s shopper).  I found a few recipes online, but I was not about to buy a box of cereal and have only one cup left over, and I did not see the point of adding the butter when more speculoos would just add more flavor.

IMG_1108

tossing the oats in the melted chocolate/speculoos

Here is the recipe for the original

9 cups Rice Chex®, Corn Chex® or Chocolate Chex® cereal (or combination)
1 cup semisweet chocolate chips
1/2 cup peanut butter
1/4 cup butter or margarine
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 1/2 cups powdered sugar

1. Into large bowl, measure cereal; set aside.
2. In 1-quart microwavable bowl, microwave chocolate chips, peanut butter and butter uncovered on High 1 minute; stir. Microwave about 30 seconds longer or until mixture can be stirred smooth. Stir in vanilla. Pour mixture over cereal, stirring until evenly coated. Pour into 2-gallon resealable food-storage plastic bag.
3. Add powdered sugar. Seal bag; shake until well coated. Spread on waxed paper to cool. Store in airtight container in refrigerator

Here is what I used….

3/4 jar of Speculoos

12.5 oz box of Nature’s Path Crispy Oaty Bites Cereal

the cereal drying in its containers

the cereal drying in its containers

3/4 C of semi sweet chocolate chunks (I eyeballed this)

about 1C powdered sugar (once again eyeballed)

*Note no need to spread on waxed paper.  I placed mine in three different containers (which I consolidated into two to transport).  Also try these straight out of the freezer!

IMG_1113

Ladies trying on “new” clothes

Standard

Leave a Reply

