Food, Fun, NYC, recipe, savory

Lighter Italian Fare

I recently received a recipe for turkey meatballs using quinoa as the main binder (as opposed to the usual breadcrumbs).  I wanted to give it a shot, but I also had two recipes for lasagne using zucchini.  I noticed that all three recipes used the same ingredients so I decided to make two dishes to eliminate and half used cans of tomato paste and 3/4 onion.  Unfortunately the zucchini was not sliced thin enough to roll, so that dish turned into a veggie lasagne.  The turkey meatballs were great so that is the recipe I will be sharing today.  I am also proud to report the only leftover ingredient I have is a little extra basil!  I was also able to eliminate dirty dishes and time by making the quinoa and cauliflower/cheese mixture for the lasagne the day before.

Turkey Quinoa Meatballs 

Recipe adapted from active.com.  *Note I halved the recipe and recalled from my last experience making meatballs to reduce the onion so I used less onion.

baking balls

baking balls

  • 1 cup cooked quinoa
  • 1 tablespoon tomato paste
  • 1 teaspoon dried basil
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 2 finely minced garlic cloves
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1/2 onion, finely chopped
  • 1/4 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 cup finely grated Parmesan cheese
  • 2 pounds ground turkey

Cover two rimmed baking sheets with aluminum foil and set aside.  I

simmering sauce

simmering sauce

used Parchment.

In a large bowl, combine all ingredients except for meat, and mix well to combine. Add ground turkey and gently mix with fingers until thoroughly combined. Form the meat into 1 1/2-inch balls (about 22 to 24 meatballs) and place onto baking sheets with enough space between so the meatballs aren’t touching. Bake until cooked through, about 15 minutes.

Serve with your favorite tomato sauce.  *I made my own using the rest of the onion, 2 cloves of minced garlic, 28oz can of plum tomatoes, 14.5 oz. can of fire roasted tomatoes, the rest of the tomato paste(my can was only 6oz), red pepper flakes, salt/pepper, dried oregano, and a handful of torn basil.  I let the sauce simmer on the stove while the meatballs cooked.

 

beautiful balls

beautiful balls

IMG_1094

layering the attempted zucchini rolls into lasagne

IMG_1096

“lasagne” with sauce and parmesan

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

