Dining, Food, NYC, recipe, savory

Salmon Burgers Take 2

So after a lot of research on Salmon Burgers,  I came up with another variety although I have one adjustment I would like to make in the future.  I used canned salmon (boneless and skinless) but thought the fresh (although more expensive) salmon would have made the patty even better.

the batch precooked

the batch precooked

Ingredients:

  • 1T Capers
  • 1/2 red pepper diced
  • 2T spicy mustard
  • 1T mayo (I used light)
  • 1 lemon zest and juice
  • 1t hot sauce
  • 4T egg whites
  • 6T panko breadcrumbs
  • 1t garlic powder

I tried to turn it into an all pantry meal since I used canned tuna and it did indeed seem to work.  I sautéed the red pepper with hot sauce and a bit of mustard, spices, and capers for 15 minutes and let cool to room temperature.  I combined the pepper mixture with the salmon (if using fresh I would cook and break it into flakes) and the rest of the ingredients (eggs, mustard, mayo, panko, lemon, salt/pepper).  I let the mixture settle together in the refrigerator for an hour before cooking.  I tried one burger with extra panko on the outside for an extra crispy patty, but I didn’t find it necessary.

burger with zucchini

burger with zucchini

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

