Food, Fun, NYC, recipe, savory

ultimate BULGUR cookoff

Bulgur VS Bulgur

Since I have yet to cook with the great grain bulgar and have had some great tabbouli and pilaf recently, I decided it was time to cook some of my own.  After much research I found very similar ingredients often incorporated in a bulgar salad.  Often used in Turkish cuisines, most combined bulgar with cucumbers, tomatoes, scallions, parsley etc.  Since I did not need a whole container of tomatoes, or a whole bunch of scallions, I decided to have a recipe round off.  I made two similar recipes from two different cookbooks and had very interesting results. The first is a Batrik, a Turkish bulgur salad with nuts.  This was very simple with few ingredients from my “Global Cooking” cookbook.  The other a Turkish Bulgur Salad from my “Skinny Meals in Heels cookbook which was packed with flavorful ingredients.  The results were surprising.

I made a whole bag of bulgur and divided it between two bowls so the measurements may be a bit off

Turkish Bulgur

  • scallions
  • tomatoes (I used grape)
  • cucumber (I used three small cukes)
  • lime juice (3 limes)
  • handful of parsley, chopped
  • handful of mint, chopped
  • dash of EVOO
  • 3T tomato paste
  • salt

Batrik

Kitchen madness with two bowls and two recipes!

Kitchen madness with two bowls and two recipes!

  • tomato (I used a lot of grape)
  • 1t tomato paste
  • salt
  • crushed red pepper
  • finally chopped scallions
  • walnuts (I toasted mine)

Each recipe simply involves chopping and combining all the ingredients.  I boiled the bulgur in stock to punch up the flavor then combined all the ingredients.  It tastes great at room temperature and can be left in the fridge for several days (I am currently testing the freezer method).

 

The Winner

BATRIK for sure.  I ended up liking the turkish bulgur even more a day later, but  truthfully ended up combining the two salads and ate it as one.  I also liked that it required less ingredients!

Standard

Leave a Reply

