This one came at the perfect time for me to enjoy on a hot day and busy week ahead where I can grab and go!  Gina posted this today and since I already had cooked quinoa in the fridge (to add to my daily breakfast) I only needed a few more ingredients.  Below is her recipe, which of course I changed.  First of all I used lemon flavored olive oil because it is simply the best.  Second I omitted the red onion as I do not like too strong of a raw onion flavor and stuck with just shallots (I misread the instructions and did not buy scallions).  I also changed the serving sizes based on the ingredients I had to have little excess.  I did not peel the cucumber because I enjoy the skin.

IMG_0420

Gina’s Quinoa Tabouli

1/2 cup quinoa
1/4 teaspoon plus 1/8 teaspoon kosher salt
1 cup English cucumber, peeled and finely chopped
3/4 cup finely chopped tomato
2 tablespoons finely chopped red onion
2 tablespoons sliced scallions
1/4 cup finely chopped fresh parsley leaves
1 1/2 tablespoons finely chopped fresh mint leaves
1/2 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
1 1/2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
1 tablespoon red wine vinegar

NYC, recipe, savory

Quinoa Tabouli/ Tabbouleh Salad

Image

One thought on “Quinoa Tabouli/ Tabbouleh Salad

Leave a Reply

