Food, Fun, NYC, Ohio, recipe, savory

Salsa-fied

IMG_0162

salsa and homemade chips

I made guacamole, salsa, and bean salad for a mexican inspired dinner.  I love tex-mex because you can add ingredients to your liking and do not need recipes.  I made use of the food processor for my salsa as all the chopping takes too much time.  I added some of the salsa along with extra line and cilantro into avocado to make the guac.  My favorite side dish of the night was the warm bean and corn salad. I also decided to bake corn tortillas into fresh chips.  To be honest they were tasty, but just as good as bagged chips you can buy at the store.

IMG_0161

warm corn and bean salsa

In this recipe, I combined two from America’s Test Kitchen first the toasted corn salsa added bell peppers, garlic and cumin.  The southwestern black bean salad added beans and chipotle peppers in adobo.  I omitted the avocado as I already made guacamole, and cilantro, lime, salt/pepper, and scallions were found in both recipes.

IMG_0399

guacamole.salsa.pink dip

I also made salsa, guacamole, and “pink dip” for an impromptu pool party last weekend.  Everyone raved about the first two and the third is just plain tasty.

The last salsa dish I made was repeated from a cooking class I took at Truffles and Trifles in Orlando.  This grilled Mahi Mahi dish with mango blueberry salsa is so delishous.  My only problem was finding rip avocados and mangos in Ohio is nearly impossible.  If they are in season, go for it.

IMG_0385

blueberry salsa with grilled mahi mahi

Blueberry Salsa

1/2c Blueberries

1 mango, diced

1 red pepper, diced

1.2 avocado

2 T minced red onion

2T minced cilantro

1 Jalapeño pepper minced

juice from 1 lime

salt to taste

I minced red onion, cilantro, pepper, and cilantro in a food processor to speed up the process and avoid huge chances of any bitter or spicy flavors.  Combine and enjoy!

 

Standard

One thought on “Salsa-fied

Leave a Reply

