Food, Fun, recipe, Sweets

Family Firsts and Fruit Pizza

IMG_0364Last night I had the rare opportunity to meet more Klingers! Of course I couldn’t make my presence known without arriving with a tray of goodies.  I decided to make a fruit pizza with the mulberries grown in the backyard.  This recipe was passed down through members of the other side of my family so I thought it would be a great cool treat in the hot Orlando weather. Unfortunately, I did not have access to my home kitchen, so I used refrigerated cookie dough (Immaculate Baking Co. is recommended) instead of making my own. 

Ingredients

  • 1 package of pre made sugar cookie dough
  • 1 8 oz package of 1/3 less fat cream cheese
  • cinnamon (optional) 
  • 1/2c granulated sugar
  • fresh berries
  • berry juice or warm jam (optional)
IMG_0360

the slightly under baked crust with cinnamon sprinkled atop

Once again I had to make a few adjustments including sprinkling cinnamon overtop of the cookie dough ( I also wonder if a snicker doodle crust would work even better).   I also found a greek yogurt/cream cheese blend and was pleasantly surprised with the results. 

Directions

  1. Press dough evenly into 9x13in baking tray and bake at 350 degrees for 15 minutes.  This is when I sprinkled the top with cinnamon.  Chill in refrigerator. 
  2. Once completely cool, mix sugar with softened cream cheese (I had no mixer so I had to do this by hand.  Spread evenly over crust.  Next time I may try to swirl in  jam/fruit juice for added color instead of drizzling after.  
  3. Place favorite fruit on top in any pattern you want.  This is great as you can arrange into letters or shapes for whatever you are celebrating.

Luckily I was able to gat a picture before everyone ate secondsIMG_0363

 

This recipe is not gluten free, or dairy free, or sugar free, or egg free etc. It is extremely delicious.

Standard

Leave a Reply

