Food, Fun, NYC, recipe, Sweets

Forget Macaron Get MacarOOned!

After realizing I do not like macarons as much as I thought, I decided to give macarOOns a try.  I always despised almond joy bars, however I learned a fresh macaroon is simple sweet and very tasty.  There are many varieties of the treat; however I made my first go simple with only a drizzle of chocolate on top.  A traditional macaroon may also include almonds.  Basically whipped egg whites, sugar and coconut create the light and crisp yet chewy dessert perfect for this time of year.  Some recipes call for sweetened condensed milk, but I chose to forego that and use as little ingredients as possible.  Add a few M&M’s to the top and they create cute easter nests (thanks for the idea pinterest).

 Ingredients

1 14oz. bag of sweetened shredded coconut 
1/2C white sugar (one recipe called for agave or honey which I would also like to try)
2tsp. vanilla extract
pinch of salt (or two)
4 Egg whites (whipped until white and medium peaks form)

Directions

Preheat oven to 325 degrees

Combine salt, sugar, vanilla and coconut

Fold in whipped whites

Scoop onto baking sheet lined with parchment or silpat liner

Bake 15-20 minutes rotating trays halfway until tops brown

Sit on tray 10minutes before removing

IMG_0083 IMG_0084

Standard

Leave a Reply

