Food, Fun, NYC, Sweets

Happy Birthday to…ME

There is one day a year I can really make it about me and that is today March 21st.  In honor of me I made my very own birthday cake this year.  It was really just an excuse to make myself a cake because I had a box of vanilla cake mix and good chocolate frosting sitting in the freezer.  I jazzed it up by whipping fresh cream to create whipped cream.  I simply added vanilla to cold whipping cream and voila a perfect whipped cream.  I did not sweeten it as both the cake and frosting were already super sweet.  I want to keep this on hand as it can easily be transformed into a chocolate whip or sweet frosting or a tart lemon whip.

IMG_0053

I made this one with my sister and our original idea was to create a design with the black and white “frostings” however we concluded the dollop of cream works best with the consistency of the frosting as well as storing purposes.

IMG_0054

 

Hey for an impromptu cake I thought it was great however I cannot take the credit for the cake as I used a box mix.

Here is the recipe for the chocolate frosting from Anne Burrell.   It makes so much there was some leftover after both frosting the cake as well as frosting a batch of cupcakes!

Ingredients

1 (12-ounce) bag semisweet chocolate chips
3 sticks unsalted butter, almost room temperature
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
Pinch kosher salt
1/2 cup powdered sugar

Directions

Put the chocolate chips in a heat-proof bowl. Put 1-inch of water in a saucepan and put the bowl of chips on top of the pan. Bring the water to a boil over medium heat. Gently stir the chips around until they are 3/4 of the way melted. Remove the bowl from the saucepan and stir occasionally until all the chips have melted.

In the bowl of a stand mixer with the paddle attachment, beat the butter until light and fluffy. Scrape down the sides and add the powdered sugar, vanilla and salt. Beat on low speed until the mixture is combined. Then turn the mixer speed to medium-high and beat for 30 seconds. Turn down the mixer and add the chocolate gradually. Turn up the mixer again and beat until the chocolate is completely incorporated and the frosting is light and fluffy.

Read more at: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/anne-burrell/sour-cream-cupcakes-recipe.html?oc=linkback

Standard

Leave a Reply

