Dining, Food, Fun, NYC, Uncategorized

Food Fails

 You win some and you lose some in life as well as cooking.  I figured this post would be appropriate for all those who have felt the uphill battle lately or for those who are just down in the dumps because another snowstorm is approaching.  Some may know the feeling of shadenfreude best described in the musical Avenue Q finding pleasure in others misfortune.  Here are some epic fails and why they have failed…

IMG_2374

sweet potato gnocchi

why I thought it would work: I thought taking a traditional spinach and goat cheese gnocchi recipe and substituting potato gnocchi with sweet potato gnocchi would work.

why it failed: The sweet potatoes brought on their own flavor.  They should really just be eaten out of the saucepan all buttered up.

IMG_2380

Classic Mozzarella Pizza

why I thought it would work:  Easy because we purchased store bought crust and had fresh mozzarella basil and tomatoes

why it failed: I failed to pat dry the mozzarella and should have used smaller tomatoes with less juice

IMG_2487

Cheerio Breakfast Muffins

why I thought it would work: straight from the Cheerios website I thought these muffins would be a great start to my mornings

why it failed:  they were too healthy and even after adding fruits and coconut and added sugar they were flavorless and dense

IMG_2511 IMG_2537

Spinach Dip

why I thought it would work: Everyone boasts about using greek yogurt as a substitute for mayo and sour cream so I thought I would give it a go in this version of the dip

why it failed:  The flavor was so off that after adding spices and cheese it was only worse and was eventually tossed.

IMG_2682

Sweet and savory cous cous

why I thought it would work:  I read about cpus cpus side dishes all the time and I thought this would be a nice addition to packed lunches but boy was I wrong

why it failed:  I blame this mostly on the fact that the apple was mealy, but seriously I should stick with the mint and pine nut version of this dish I know I enjoy.

IMG_2921 IMG_2923

Popcorn Balls

why I thought it would work:  Everyone seems to have luck with this “easy, kid- friendly” dessert, but stick to rice crispy treats next time.

why it failed:  The popcorn balls were sticky and hard to form.  Once placed in wrapping they became rock hard.

 

IMG_3041 IMG_3042

 

Thumbprint cookies

why I thought it would work:  I love thumbprints from a bakery in Ohio and wanted to make my own and did significant research before beginning this recipe.  Lets just say I had too many different recipes to choose from.

why it failed:  I do not even know where to begin.  A shortbread or a sugar cookie? By the time it came to frosting, I simply gave up and  broke a cardinal rule by icing the cookies while hot.  Not to mention the icing tasting like pure confectioners sugar.

IMG_3162IMG_3164

 

Parmesan Rind Soup

why I thought it would work:  I was just trying to use up the leftover rind and foodies say to use it in a soup base and it elevates the dish to a whole new level.

why it failed: Blah not enough flavor and I somehow let the beans soak overnight and they were still hard.  I am sticking to canned beans and tossing the rind.

IMG_3360IMG_3359

 

Baked Pepperoni Chips

why I thought it would work:   Since paleo is all the rage these days, I thought it would be fun to find a new “chip” to dip.

why it failed:  They were even spicier after baking and I was craving a tortilla chip.

IMG_3334

 

Broiled Grapefruit

why I thought it would work:  I love sweet grapefruits and after adding a touch of sugar this baked treat looks like a win.

why it failed:  After all of the anticipation waiting for the oven to heat and bake my fruit, it was just weird.  Too much work for little result.  Warm fruit…keep it at room temp next time and drizzle a little honey or sugar to taste.

Hopefully I will still have a few readers after this post.  Now you have really seen the good, bad, and the ugly.  Like a celebrity without makeup. Like the great pinterest fail posts we all read. 

Standard

One thought on “Food Fails

Leave a Reply

