Food, Fun, NYC, recipe, savory

Balls 2- Swedish Style

Alas the great wiki has come in handy to see if my meatballs pass according to the true definition.  It reads:

“A meatball is made from an amount of ground meat rolled into a small ball, sometimes along with other ingredients, such as breadcrumbs, minced onionspices, possibly eggs and herbs.”

IMG_3362

Swedish meatballs are typically found in Norway and Sweden.  Often pork and served with a gravy and boiled veggies.  That is exactly what I have attempted to do in this case.  My Italian meatballs (featured yesterday) are not so traditional as they were made out of ground turkey.

I also discovered that every culture has its own version of the ball so there met be more attempts in the 6By6 kitchen.   In the meantime head to the famous Meatball Shop in a few locations throughout Brooklyn and Manhattan.

I got this recipe from a new cookbook I received for Christmas.  The meatballs are baked before adding the sauce lightening them up.  Note they can be easily frozen although four servings can be eaten fairly quickly.  My notes include using less onion in the meat mixture and letting the sauce simmer and cool a bit to thicken.

IngredientsIMG_3361

  • 18oz ground pork
  • 2t allspice *gives it great flavor
  • 1 egg
  • 1 small onion finely diced (I would recommend 1/2)
  • 1/3 c breadcrumbs (I used Panko)
  • 1T olive oil
  • 1T AP flour
  • 1/2C white wine (I had some on hand frozen!)
  • 1 3/4C beef broth
  • 1T chopped dill
  • salt/pepper
 

Directions

  • preheat oven to 375
  • combine pork, allspice, egg, onion, bread crumbs, salt, and pepper in a bowlIMG_3363
  • form into golfball sized balls (first batch I made using 1T measure and the second I used an ice cream scoop I wish I could have something in-between)
  • toss with olive oil and bake 15 minutes
  • add flour with olive oil to a skillet over medium low heat (2 minutes)
  • whisk in wine and broth until thick
  • add the meatballs to the sauce and garnish with dill
Standard

One thought on “Balls 2- Swedish Style

Leave a Reply

