Dining, Food, NYC, recipe, savory

Simplest Curry Your Way

I use the term “curry” loosely as I am no expert in Thai cuisine, but after my experimentation of authentic Korean, Thai, and Vietnamese food in Pittsburgh I thought I would experiment in the 6by6 kitchen.

After a lot of research I decided to make curry with a few guidelines. Since I do not keep coconut milk on hand, I decided to use almond milk.  I also did not want to buy a bunch of different asian spices and sauces I would never use again so I used a combination of green curry paste and gyoza dipping sauce (which contains mostly soy sauce).

There are a few key ingredients that can be interchangeable in making this dish.

Protein

I chose chicken because it is inexpensive and easy to cook.  I am sure you can go with most meats, faux meats and tofu but this was pretty good.

Veggies

I cheated and used frozen for a few reasons.  It is what I had in stock, I wanted to stick with either all fresh or all frozen to aid in cooking, and it is the cheapest option.  Other options include peas, carrots, eggplant, bamboo, and those baby corn that always appear in asian cuisines.

Aromatics

Once again I decided to go with the simplest option of garlic, gyoza, salt/pepper, and green curry paste.  Many recipes included shallots, onion, basil, lime juice and zest, fish sauce, lemongrass and soy sauce.  I have also made the mistake of adding too many different flavors and wanted to avoid that.

Garnish

Since I used almond milk in the base I decided to go with roasted and salted almond slivers. Other options include cashews, coconut, cilantro, lime or basil.

My recipe is made in four simple steps. and complete in less than 20 minutes.

  1. Poach-Use your combination of milk, broth or water to poach the meat. Bring al ingredients to a simmer 10 minutes.
  2. Saute- Let aromatics sear a bit in the saute pan before adding veggies.  Cook veggies until warm throughout.
  3. Simmer- combine all ingredients (except rice and almonds) in saute pan and let simmer a few minutes.
  4. Garnish- place veggie/meat mixture over rice and top with fresh garnish.

My Chicken CurryIMG_3337

  • 1.5 C- original almond milk
  • 1.5 Lb chicken cut into 1 in cubes
  • 3C brown rice
  • 3-4T Green Curry Paste
  • 1-2T Gyoza sauce
  • 2 Cloves minced garlic
  • 1/4C Toasted slivered almonds
  • 1/2 lb broccoli
  • 1lb green beans
  • 1C diced tricolored peppers

Definitely one I will be repeating!  Next time I want to add eggplant.  Also a new restaurant review of Chinese/dim sum in NYC to come!

Standard

One thought on “Simplest Curry Your Way

  1. Pingback: Ingredients for Making Amazing Asian Food | Recipes for a Healthy You

Leave a Reply

