Food, Fun, Ohio, recipe, Sweets

TBT Spritz Sugar cookies

IMG_3331I know January is usually the time of year where new diets begin, but I think cookies are more graciously accepted when temperatures fall below 0 and you are stuck inside all day.  Since I did not make holiday cut out cookies this year, I thought it would be the perfect treat to make since two of my flights were cancelled.  I did not realize that the cutout cookies needed to be refrigerated several hours before rolling, so I HAD to make spritz cookies using a press.

Before my investigation for the perfect cookie began I had never heard of the household brand Wilton or Mirro aluminum before.  I pulled out a cookie press with all the original instructions and recipes from well before I was born.  I tried to look up when the device was bought but even with the help of Google, I was unsuccessful.  The Mirro Cookie Pastry Set I used is now considered “vintage” on ebay and selling for $36!

IMG_3325After googling the best cookie recipe, I found the recipe has not change.  I did find many useful tips to making a better cookie which were successful. 

Cookie Press TipsIMG_3327

Beat butter and sugar for 10 minutes in stand mixer.  Before mixers were invented some cookie recipes called for you to hand mix for an hour!
Freeze cookie sheets in the oven a few minutes before pressing cookie dough to ensure they do not stick to the press.
Note: I used the cookie recipe on the right but only baked 6 minutes and used room temperature eggs and butter.
One batch made a lot of cookies… around 7 dozen.

sugar cookies

Standard

Leave a Reply

