IMG_3127

To offset the disturbing results of the cranberry upside-down cake, I thought I would give cranberries another go.  I also had leftover cranberries which I refused to waste.  I used Gina’s Cranberry Cheesecake bar recipe from her Skinnytaste blog.  As per usual I made a few changes.  Most notably the use of crushed speculoos cookies in the crust!  You may want to check out this link as Gina is much better at food photography than I. You can also see the changes in her recipe such as the addition of pecans and orange zest neither of which I had on hand.

http://www.skinnytaste.com/2013/11/skinny-cranberry-swirl-cheesecake.html

IMG_3126

Cranberry Sauce:
• 3/4 cup fresh cranberries
• 1/4 cup sugar
• 1/4 cup water
Crust:
• 3 oz speculoos cookies (I used 12 but next time will use more)
• 1 1/2 tablespoons light butter, melted
 Cheesecake:
• 8 oz 1/3 less fat cream cheese
• 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract• 1/4 cup sugar
• 6 oz nonfat Greek yogurt
• 2 egg whites
• 2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
• 1 tablespoon flour

 Normally my creations are not presentational, but achieving the cranberry swirl was super easy.  Also I am sure a jarred sauce or jam in any flavor would work just as well.

IMG_3128

Cheesecake cutting tip: Thanks to Alton Brown, next time I will be sure to take the cheesecake out of the pan before cutting with a knife warm from running under warm water.

Finally I can rest in peace knowing that I had a hit on my hands and a recipe to add to my collection.IMG_3129

 

Dining, Food, Fun, NYC, recipe, Sweets

Cranberry Cheesecake Bars

Image

Leave a Reply

