Food, Fun, NYC, Sweets

Friendsgiving 3- Crunchy Speculoos Blondies

I had to finish the day off with something sweet so Mary and I also made speculoos blondies.  Now we should all know by now that I love a blondie for their dense under baked quality, and I also love cookie butter.  I needed to introduce my favorite guilty pleasure to Mary who had never tried cookie butter.  Once again I was glad to have some on hand as it was out of stock at TJ’s.  I took the basic recipe from the blog Tasty Retreat which was adapted from traditional peanut butter blondies.

http://www.tastyretreat.com/2011/08/speculoos-blondies/

IMG_3070I need to find a new way to cream my butter and sugar mixture as my little hand mixture seems to spray batter everywhere, so I combined all my ingredients by hand and it turned out great.  These are the ingredients I used.

• 1/2 cup speculoos (I used a little more)
• ⅓ cup butter, room temperature
• ⅔ cup white sugar
• ½ cup brown sugar, packed
• 2 eggs
• ½ teaspoon vanilla
• 1 cup whole wheat flour
• 1 teaspoon baking powder
• ¼ teaspoon salt
• 1 cup semi sweet chocolate chips

IMG_3071

Like any other baked good I creamed the butter, sugars, and crunchy speculoos to add air to the batter. Then I whisked in the eggs and vanilla.  And folded the dry ingredients to a thick batter.  I  pressed the batter into a parchment lined 8X8 pan to ensure easy cleanup and baked at 350 degrees for 25 minutes. I sprinkled the chocolate chips over the blondie and placed back in the oven turned off for a minute to melt the chips.  Then I spread out the melted chips for a chocolate layer to top off the treats.  The hardest part was waiting for the chocolate to set.  So we ate them warm with a cup of fresh apple cider from the farmers market down the street.  I like to cut them into little bite size pieces because they are so dense and rich.

Tips for next time:

I would add a little cinnamon and nutmeg to my batter as well as a little more speculoos because I love the flavor so much.  I might also try it using milk chocolate chips or speed with more speculoos as Tasty Retreat suggests!IMG_3072

Standard

Leave a Reply

