Food, Fun, NYC, recipe, savory

Friendsgiving 2- Crunchy Garbanzo Beans

Okay so most people see Garbanzo beans (or chickpeas) straight out of a can into a salad bar, or pureed with some tahini to make hummus.  BORING.  I had a can on hand in case I wanted to add a little something to a meal.  Well I thought it would be the perfect quick nosh for Mary and I to enjoy while our soup simmered away.

I seasoned and bake the beans (which saved a lot of dishes in the long run as well).  This recipe can be found all over the internet.  Some chose the more sweet route coating the beans in cinnamon sugar, where others went for more of a kick.  I chose option number two covering them in salt, cumin, ground red pepper, chili powder, and a hint of turmeric.  I coated them in olive oil and tossed them in the spice mix and baked at 400 degrees for 30 minutes.   Mine softened after a while so next time I would try leaving them in the warm oven on the tray to dry out.  Since mine softened, I popped them back in the oven the following morning and they crisped right up.

IMG_3069

Rinse and dry can of chickpeas with a paper towel.

Drizzle with olive oil and season with whatever spices/herbs your heart desires

Bake at 400 degrees 30-40 minutes and leave out on tray to dry.

This is a great appetizer to make ahead and set out with nuts and olives as guess arrives you can focus on the main meal (hint hint as Turkey Day approaches).  I also packed them in my lunch later in the week to snack on as well.

 

Standard

One thought on “Friendsgiving 2- Crunchy Garbanzo Beans

  1. Pingback: ” Mint Garbanzo Bean Salad” | Ace Food & Health News

Leave a Reply

