Food, Fun, NYC, recipe, Sweets

Pumpkin Post 1- Pumpkin Cake Roll unrolled

I need to dedicate just a bit more attention to pumpkin season before it slips away.  One of my favorite blogs skinnytaste recently posted 50 different pumpkin treats.  Gina adapted this roll from the Joy of Baking and I adapted the icing a bit from both based on the ingredients I had on hand.  Although I have not posted 50 pumpkin recipes, I picked one that I thought was fun and different.  This pumpkin roll is super decadent and still uses butter, fat, and sugar, just not as much as the traditional recipe.  I thought this would be the perfect treat to bring over to a friend and fellow blogger’s apartment as it looks more impressive than it is.

I followed the recipe pretty close to what is suggested as I needed to ensure the ratios were correct in the cake to ensure a roll without cracking.  As mentioned above I did change the icing and added pumpkin to that because there was still some leftover from the cake so why not amp up the flavor.  As per usual I doubled the cinnamon and vanilla in the cake to ensure the extra punch of flavor and I did not have any allspice!

The roll unrolled before and after baking.  Te cake was easily removed thanks to the help of parchment paper.IMG_2861 IMG_2862

 

In this recipe patience is key.  You must cool the cake completely before adding the frosting.  It should be rolled then chilled then filled and rerolled.

okay so one end of mine cracked but no big deal.  The bigger problem is you must cool or freeze the cake before slicing to let the filling set.IMG_2864 IMG_2865

 

 

This recipe is a great one to have over the holidays as it can and should be prepared well in advance.IMG_2880 IMG_2881

I sprinkled it in cinnamon sugar and served it up!  Here it is in action. * Note: I used a smaller jelly roll pan and loved my results.

IMG_2889

Cake

http://www.skinnytaste.com/2011/11/pumpkin-roll-lightened-up.html

  • 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 3 large eggs
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 2/3 cup canned pumpkin
  • non-stick spray
  • 1/4 cup powdered sugar (to sprinkle on towel)

Filling

http://www.skinnytaste.com/2009/08/low-fat-cream-cheese-frosting.html

 

Standard

One thought on “Pumpkin Post 1- Pumpkin Cake Roll unrolled

Leave a Reply

