Dining, Food, Fun, NYC, recipe, savory

Fall Soup with Friends- Lentil Chicken sausage and butternut squash

The apple posts will have to step aside for the moment because I have so many other foods to write about.  I had the chance to make soup with friends twice.

Although I love baking, I wish it didn’t have to be an exact science.  I like having the flexibility when cooking to add the ingredients you like or have on hand to complete a dish.  I also like to eat as much whole fresh foods as possible especially as they are limited in the winter months.  I took a trip to the farmers market to get several fresh vegetables, chicken sausage, and herbs to create a hearty soup.  I like to add a protein that is already cooked so the prep time is much shorter.  We also used a pre-roasted chicken in the chili which will be featured next.  I eyeball every ingredient, but here are some of the ones I chose based on what is fresh and what I thought would pair well together.

Fall Harvest Soup

Butternut squash
lentils
chicken sausage
parsley
parmesan cheese
chicken stock
celery
carrots ( I found multi-colored ones)
onion
apple cider vinegar
salt/pepper
chicken stock
IMG_2963I always start with celery, carrots, and onions before adding the broth. Also known as a mirepoix.
IMG_2967 IMG_2968

I sprinkled a bit of parmesan cheese and a bit more fresh parsley, but I also needed to add a bit more salt and pepper for flavor.

IMG_2971In case you missed it this is Alex in action scooping the apple muffins in the tins which I cannot stop eating they are so tasty.

Standard

Leave a Reply

