Breakfast, Food, Fun, NYC, recipe

Apple a day 3- Overnight Apple Oats And Ch-Ch-Ch- Chia

Ch-Ch-Ch Chia

Today there was an article in the paper all about the health benefits of chia seeds.  Well that is for you to look up, but what I like about them is they can be used as a glue in recipes and even replace eggs (when adding with water) in many recipes.  They are great for energy and nutrients, so why not start the day off with some.  There is no need to fall into the traps of retailers who are selling “chia pods” for $3.29 each and mamma Chia sells beverages for a whopping $4.99.  Just buy a bag and add a tablespoon here or there to a salad, batter, or smoothie because they have such a mild flavor. Oh and yes they are the same little seeds we spread on the garfield statue in the early 2000s!

Overnight Oats

I have heard about the overnight oats craze for a while but never actually gotten into it as I am not usually a big oatmeal fan and I never used to have milk around… until I found almond milk.  Although greek yogurt is so tasty and my usual go-to, it is expensive and one container does not last me through the week.  I took the same ideas as my previous breakfast by adding fruits (both dried and fresh/frozen)and, ground flax(now chia), and spices to the “base”.  I love this because the flavor can change depending on what is in your kitchen and it is so simple to just grab-and-go literally.  I also love that as long as you have the oats, milk and chia, the rest is up to your taste or what is in season at the time.

IMG_2919

After my research, I have found these essential elements.  Double the liquid to the oats and chia seeds are necessary as they act as a “gluing” agent when sitting overnight in the fridge. This shows a before and after letting the chia seeds work their magic overnight.  Top Row: Before and after resting. Bottom row: stirred before and after heating (this can be eaten cold or warmed up in a microwave.

  • 1/2 C oats
  • 1 C Almond milk (vanilla unsweetened)
  • 1T Chia seeds
  • Cinnamon, vanilla, pumpkin pie spice, and dried fruit are optional add ins I prefer.

 

 

 

IMG_2920

These are a few flavor combinations.  Top row: added berries and coconut.  bottom fresh peach which was really good.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_2918

Of course I had to try an apple variety and decided they are my favorite add-in.  The applesauce added volume and flavor where the real apples added a nice crispness.  I microwaved the oats then added the apples at the last second so they were as fresh as possible.  The top row was a granny smith and the bottom was a fresh one from the farmers market which was my personal favorite.

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

