Tis the season.  I do not mean the yule tide season yet, because I want to relish in the season of fresh fall apples.  Today was the ciderfest at the Union Square greenmarket, so I figured it was the appropriate time to begin my apple cooking journey.  I love how versatile and inexpensive they are and although you can buy them year round they seem to be even better right about now.  They are great in both sweet and savory dishes.  Over the next several posts I will be showing you the versatility of the apple.  This recipe falls under a few categories of apple.

  • Apple Accent
  • Pureed
  • Cooked

 

I have never cooked an acorn squash, and those who have not should really consider it.  They are much easier to handle than a butternut squash as they are smaller in size.  This dish is fun because the “bowl” adds a lot of depth, flavor, and texture to the soup.  Do not be fooled it is a lengthy process and should be prepped on a “lazy laundry day”

IMG_2875

Prepping the Bowl

Cut a bit of the bottom of the squash so it stands up on its own.  Cut the top off (as you would a carving pumpkin and pull out the seeds.  I ended up saving the seeds and roasting them to use as a crunchy soup topper.  Sprinkle squash with olive oil and salt before recapping the top and wrapping in foil.  Bake at 375 degrees for about an hour or until the squash is softened.

 

 

 

Apple Beet Soup

  • 1 chopped red onion
  • juice of 1 lemon
  • 1 apple peeled and diced
  • 2 C beets peeled and chopped
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 8 C broth
  • 1 stalk of celery
  • 2 large carrots (I used purple to add to the color of the soup)
  • 2T Apple cider vinegar

IMG_2887

I chopped, peeled and prepped al ingredients first (while squash was roasting).  I sauteed the onion and celery 10 minuted to caramelize a bit before adding everything except the apple cider vinegar which I added at the very end.  Let simmer on stove about 40 minutes or until beets are tender.  Go in with the immersion blender and puree the soup then add the vinegar and more salt and pepper to taste.

IMG_2884

The Final Touches

I cut around the top of the cooked acorn squash and a bit of the inside to add to my leftover soup before adding the deep purple soup.  I topped it with the crunchy seeds and thought it was spectacular.  Even though it only requires one apple, it added a crisp tang that I cannot wait to enjoy as leftovers as the flavors have even more time to settle in the fridge overnight.

IMG_2886

 

Dining, Food, Fun, NYC, recipe, savory

An apple a day: 1Apple Beet soup in Acorn Squash Bowl

Image

Leave a Reply

