I have been very busy lately with little time to cook at home, but plenty of time to prep food to take and eat on the go.  From my overnight oats in the morning to my half frozen half fresh soup I am never stuck packing a plain old turkey sandwich for lunch.  In this case I tested it out at home the day before and loved it so much I recreated it for part of my lunch the next day.  I used the mini cilantro chicken wontons from Trader Joe’s which can be steamed, fried, baked, or in my case added to soup.  I added what was in my pantry, but you can use whatever flavors you think work best or whatever leftovers are in your fridge.  TIP: When packing it for lunch the next day I added all of the ingredients and seasonings without the water (stock) to avoid spilling and weight in my bag.

Dumpy Dumpling Soup Recipe

  • 8 Trader Joes mini wontons
  • 1 frozen cilantro cube
  • turmeric
  • ground red pepper
  • chicken bullion
  • salt/pepper
  • TJ’s Gyoza sauce
  • spaghetti squash
  • caramelized onions
  • frozen spinach

I do have to be honest, I wanted to create a beautiful image and places chopsticks in the soup, but realistically found a spoon works best!  This is a picture of only half of the recipe.  Both flavorful and filling.  Go for it dump a bunch of veggies and a protein into stock and flavor to taste.  You can’t really go wrong!

IMG_2828

Fun, NYC, recipe, savory

dump it all in dumpling soup

Image

Leave a Reply

