Dining, Food, Fun, NYC, recipe, Sweets

As mentioned two posts ago I created a delicious blondie after reading that people prefer brownies over them by a whopping 70 PERCENT!  Well I wanted to prove it wrong, although I should have brought both to the same party to see who ate more.

I decided to make brownies for a few other reasons.   I had both Resees and M&Ms and I wanted to put them in a batter of some sort.  The other reason is I had no butter, but plenty of oil to use and I wanted to make the most of my resources.  The interesting thing about brownies is that unlike cookies, the creaming of the butter and sugar is not necessary as brownies are better at a more fudgelike consistency.

I decided to go full fat with no substitutions on this recipe and found a very popular one from allrecipes that I tried.  Most of its 1,125 ratings received 5 stars so i thought this would be the perfect base.  I also wanted to see how long they would take me to make start to finish to see if it is more worthwhile to homemake or store buy goodies.  Spoiler alert: They took me 30 minutes TOTAL.  From pulling everything out of the cupboards to covering the tray of brownies.  I would say it is much more cost effective, fun, and appreciated by others when they are homemade especially when they are so simple to make.

Looks like I forgot to take a picture before cooking….sorry

Allrecipes Mmm-mmm Better Brownies

1/2 C veggie oil
1 C white sugar (some claimed you do not need as much)
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 eggs
1/2 C AP flour
1/3 C unsweetened cocoa
1/4 tsp baking powder
pinch of salt

Add any leftover candies, nuts, or a peanut butter swirl to the batter if desired.

All you need is one bowl to mix the oil, sugar, vanilla, and eggs.  Add the dry ingredients then candies at the end or sprinkle on top after pouring into an 8X8 in baking dish.  Bake for 20 minutes at 350 degrees.

Instead of making frosting and bothering with another dirty dish (and once again i had no butter)  I sprinkled semisweet chocolate chips over the hot brownies and a few minutes later spread the melted chips to create an even more chocolatey experience in every bite!  Since they are so rich and dense, I cut the brownies into 64 bite size pieces using a vegetable scooper so the sweet indulgence can be eaten in one delicious bite without mess and so much guilt!

I lined my tray with a sheet of parchment paper (if you follow the blog I prefer to use parchment) and it made brownie removal and cleanup simple.  I used the same sheet of parchment between the layers of brownies after boxing them up as well.

IMG_2848 IMG_2849chocolate chip layer over baked brownies then I realized I did not use enough so I added a few more before spreading into a chocolate crust.

 

Brownie History

According to the ever reliable wikipedia, brownies were created at the Palmer House in Chicago specifically for ladies to pack in their lunches as a to-go dessert.  Bertha Palmer wanted a dessert to take to the fair that was smaller but just as tasty as a piece of cake.  Living in NYC they continue to be a great treat to take on the train and carry down the street without the fear of crushing, dropping, or anyone wanting to steal my goodies.

The Brownie holding its own and proven to definitely more dense than a piece of cake.

The Results: Its a draw… It really depends on what is mixed into the brownies or blondies as well as how hungry the guests are you are feeding!IMG_2850

Blondies vs Brownie results!

Aside

Leave a Reply

