Breakfast, Dining, Food, Fun, NYC, Sweets

Tips and Tricks Thursday- Ultimate healthy pancakes

Although I have two big projects in the works, I am not quite ready to reveal them yet, so I have another day of tips and tricks.

The first is simple.  I was at my favorite TJ’s and they only had bags of lemons for sale so I bought them knowing I would only use a few before they would start to go bad.  Lemon Tip: I ended up using an old frozen herb tray for the remainder of the juice.  I use the cubes in my club soda, and recipes both sweet and savory.  I especially like to use them in my quick and healthy pancake recipe.  It only uses a few ingredients I always have in hand.

IMG_2586

 

I never believe all of the crazy protein pancake recipes that taste odd and have a weird texture.  This is my personal favorite after testing out the banana pancake and it failing miserably.  It can also be adjusted easily depending on how many people you are feeding or how hungry you are!

Perfect Puffy Pancakes

  • 1/2 C Trader joes whole wheat pancake mix
  • 1 tsp lemon juice (or one cube in my case)
  • 1/2 C almond milk ( or any other variety of milk)
  • 1 tsp chia seeds
  • cinnamon (optional)
  • vanilla (optional)
  • pumpkin pie spice (optional)

There is a reason for the first four ingredients.  The pancake mix has all the right amounts of salt and baking soda/ powder needed for a puffy pancake.  The lemon juice adds the buttermilk flavor.  The equal part almond milk is a healthy milk alternative. The chia seeds acts as a gel as well as adding other benefits such as antioxidants, fiber and helping regulate blood sugar (which is wise for those who decide to add sugary syrup to the cakes).

Chia Seed Tip: Any time you are using chia seeds make sure to let the batter sit for a bit to let them make their magic!

Pancake tip: Do not overmix the batter… this one I do not know why but Carla Hall said it and I believe her.

IMG_2605

 

I like to top mine off with a combination of syrup and fruit, but you can use whatever toppings you would on a normal pancake.   Oh and anyone who doesn’t know how to cook a pancake can wikipedia that.  Just mix and cook until bubbles form before flipping.  I would not recommend putting the fruit in the batter as it tends to burn the pan.  I have been making these twice a week and this seems to be the best combo to date!

Standard

Leave a Reply

