Food, Fun, NYC, recipe, Sweets

“The Chew” peanut butter M&M Blondies

Food network magazine did a poll in their latest issue regarding blondies versus brownies.  The poll resulted in a landslide win to the brownie at 85%.  I also agree when comparing a chocolaty treat to a butterscotch and nut filled treat.  I wanted to tackle the blondie with one that appeals to the masses.  I also spent a day in the audience of my favorite daytime TV show “The Chew” where we all walked away with a great gift from M&Ms including cookware, a gift card, and of course M&Ms.  I decided on a blondie with M&Ms and peanut butter.  I wanted to avoid making a big tray of brownies cut into bars, so after some research I noticed a lot of success in using cake mix.  I also found it was a very simple recipe since all the dry ingredients were already incorporated.

IMG_2795

Ingredients

1 box of yellow cake mix

1/2 c milk

3/4 c peanut butter

1T oil

2 Egg yolks

1 c M&Ms

 

I took ideas from a few recipes so looking online none will be quite the same, but I was still successful.

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and line an 8X8in pan with parchment paper.
  2. Mix peanut butter with oil in microwave for about 30 seconds.  Mix in with the rest of the wet ingredients.
  3. Mix in cake mix with wooden spoon until all ingredients are incorporated (the batter will be thick). Stir in M&Ms after
  4. Bake for 25 minutes and let cool for one hour before cutting.  They will be just what a blondie should be…not the texture of a cake or a cookie, but a blondie!

Mine were perfect for a fall going away party where more than 15% of the guests enjoyed my treats!  I failed to get a pic of the fudgy inside, but here is a before and after picture of the batch

IMG_2796 IMG_2798

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

