Dining, Food, Fun, NYC, recipe, savory

YAYA BABA…baba ghanoush that is

 

Don’t poo poo this one too soon.  I received some fresh eggplant from my dads garden in Ohio and I had to highlight this amazing fall veggie.  Everyone seems to love tzatziki (a yogurt base dip) and hummus ( a chickpea based dip) but forgets about the equally tasty baba ghanoush.  It is one of the middle eastern dishes that may sound exotic, but contains only a few simple ingredients and it is healthy.  Most traditionally the eggplant is roasted over an open flame to achieve a smoky flavor.  Thank heavens I have a gas stove because the smoky flavor adds so much to the dip/sauce.  This is the eggplant right after roasting about 20 minutes then the skin peeled off easily.  Many people claim to not like the texture of eggplant, but I think it is because the inside is delicious, but the skin even after cooking remains tough and bitter and is simply best removed.

IMG_2676

The only thing I did not have on hand was tahini which is commonly in hummus as well.  I would also try to add onion next time as well.   Since i was not expecting this special delivery I used all goods I had in my pantry.  I simply blended the eggplant (drained) with

  • garlic
  • salt
  • cumin
  • parsley
  • lemon
  • salt/pepper
  • ground red pepper (omit if you don’t prefer a kick)

IMG_2679Mine turned out slightly green as I used a frozen parsley cube, but I prefer that over the traditional brown hue.  I finished this off in one day by dipping and spreading it on nearly every dish.  I dipped pretzels and chips in it, spread it on my turkey sandwich, spread in an omelette, and spread on broccoli.  I still had one more eggplant left which will be for the next 6 by 6 post!

 

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

