Dining, Food, Fun, NYC, savory

TBT 1920’s review best Apple soup

I am usually not a fan of “Throw Back Thursday” but for the sake of food, I am going to research into what Americans ate in different eras.  I also took an amazing trip to Philly this weekend and was inspired by the 20s feel and farm fresh food at the Farmers Cabinet.IMG_2675

The 1920s was known as the prohibition era, so to compensate for the lack of alcohol, many foodies turned to sweets.  Unfortunately that meant jello molds and adding marshmallows to fruit cocktail.  Luckily, that was not on the menu for Philadelphia’s restaurant week.  We stopped for an amazing three course lunch and boy was it good!

IMG_2670We started with an apple cauliflower soup topped with pine nuts and oil.  This was divine thanks to the tartness of the apple.  Then butternut squash ravioli which I always opt for at restaurants as long as they are made fresh.  They were atop a bed off kale and swiss chard and topped with a fried sage leaf.  And to round out the fall meal a pumpkin cheesecake which had a sweet crunchy cookie crust.

Although some food came out in the 1920s that I wish hadn’t such as wonder bread, velvet cheese, and other over processed shelf stable foods, it was also a great time where Quaker oats, Betty Crocker, and Reese’s Cups were all introduced.

Basically I LOVED IMG_2671my trip to Philly on Sunday and I can’t wait to return to visit my cousin at school.  As fall approached I am also gearing everyone up for apple season.  I wanted to get a head start on the apple challenge as it works well in so many dishes.  Last Thanksgiving I made butternut squash and apple soup.  Just like at the Farmers Cabinet, the sweet and tart apple is perfectly paired with a hearty veggie when pureed in a soup.

IMG_1092This was the part of the meal I put my sister in charge of and between the homemade pretzels and the perfect soup, she won me over.  More on apples all next week!

Although I do not ave an exact recipe I know it involved butternut squash, granny smith apples, simple spices, and heavy cream swirled in at the very end.

 

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

