As summer comes to a close and I am on an Asian foods kick, I wanted to share my new love of summer rolls.  These are traditionally vietnamese rolls of fresh raw veggies stuffed inside a rice paper along with a protein or veggie to round it out as a meal.  Sometimes there are also peanuts and red pepper flakes to give it crunch and a kick to accompany either a peanut sauce or a sweet and sour sauce.  I am crazy about these treats for several reasons.  They are fresh and tasty and are served cold so they would be good for a group.  When wrapped well they are beautifully plated as the rice paper is a sea-through shell revealing the inside.  They are great handheld snacks I can go on and on about these bites.

IMG_2410I started my research at a place in the Chelsea Market in NYC called beyond sushi.  Since I do not like sushi after an unfortunate experience in San Francisco this was the perfect fit as they make vegan sushi meaning no raw fish involved.  I tried the mighty mushroom which had tofu, mushrooms, and micro arugula wrapped in black rice.  I also had the sweet angel summer roll which wrapped Buckwheat Noodles, Green Asparagus, Baked Sweet Potato, Alfalfa Sprouts, Romaine Lettuce and Chili Flakes in a rice paper roll.  They both came with futuristic looking tubes of their homemade sauce.  After this experience I needed to try to copy this idea…this is still a work in progress.

 

IMG_2449First, I figured I would stick with what I know and more traditional flavors.  Here are some of the ingredients I tried in a variety of batches I have made.  I have also learned to make sure to season and marinade the noodles and protein in vinegar before cooking and adding to the roll for even more flavor.

 

 

 

 

Ingredients I used although I plan on trying more like beef, chicken, mango, and buckwheat noodles.

Flavors

Basil Cilantro Mint Red Pepper Flakes

Protein

Tofu, Shrimp, Rice Noodles

Veggies

Kimchi Carrots Caramelized Onions Cucumber Lettuce

 

IMG_2450 IMG_2567 IMG_2611

I know all of these need work in the presentation department, but that is why I admit to being a leaning amateur.  I tried both a peanut dipping sauce as well as the TJ’d Gyoza sauce I highlighted yesterday.  I liked them both but my favorite and most inventive one which I failed to take a picture of includes my favorite pizza toppings.  I took several fresh veggies and added pineapple and bacon to the roll.  I loved it, but maybe I loved the idea moreso because I still prefer them on my pizza best!

 

 

Dining, Food, Fun, NYC, savory

End of Summer Rolls

Image

One thought on “End of Summer Rolls

  1. Pingback: Homemade Sushi and Vegetable Tempura | Eating My Feelings

Leave a Reply

