Breakfast, Dining, Food, Fun

Back to School Basics- Tips and tricks

So I know it has been a few days since posting but I was having the most amazing weekend with my family in South Carolina.  We shared a lot of good cooking tips and tricks including using Ground Saigon Cinnamon, the addition of 1 tablespoon of water to my snicker-doodle recipe, and tasty but not too sweet Blue Diamond Mocha dusted Almonds.  I was able to share the simplicity of spaghetti squash I prepped in the microwave for the clan with some parmesan as well as introduce them to the magical speculoos cookie butter which we ate with some Blue Bell ice cream.  Although most NYC schools have not started yet, they have been in cession for three weeks now down south.  In honor of the back to school season, I want to lend a hand with a few tips and tricks that I have started using in my kitchen.

Lesson #1 Taco Shells

I love cheese on my tacos, but only had goat cheese on hand, so in this case I decided to lay it in the bottom of the taco shell before toasting in the oven for a few minutes.  While it was still hot I was able to easily spread the cheese evenly in the shell.

IMG_2190

IMG_2191

 

Of course I made the use of some leftover veggies and chicken from work, so I added some apple cider vinegar and a taco seasoning blend of cumin, chili powder, salt, pepper, and an even hotter chili pepper.

Lesson #2 Waffles

I absolutely love waffles, but I have no interest in adding weird chia, flax, or bananas as the base to altar the taste.  Since there is so much milk in a waffle recipe, this one swap can cut a lot of calories, but no apparent change in texture or taste.  My simple swap of unsweetened vanilla almond milk hits the spot!  They are still light and fluffy as well as decadent and not too healthy.  I made these with blueberries, but they are great plain.  I always make an entire batch then freeze them in pairs.  When I am ready I pop them right into the toaster for a quick breakfast treat for any day.

IMG_2334

Lesson #3 Pretty presentation

Make the most of your skins.  I am talking your fruits and veggies.  here are two easy examples.  I pulled out the grapefruit and orange segments and ate them right out of my grapefruit shell.

IMG_2407

I also know that zucchini boats are very popular especially since they have been in season lately, but it really is an impressive edible treat.  You can do virtually anything from filling with chili to taco fillings.  In this case, I loaded it italian style with some spices, herbs, onion, tomatoes, chicken sausage and topped it with cheese.  Make sure to boil the zucchini before baking and then go ahead an eat the boat skin and all!

IMG_2348

 

 

 

 

 

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

