Well I went to summer streets again today for more freebies and fun.  I also rented a citibike for the week to give it a test.  It is a new bike rental program here in NYC where I can ride a bike anywhere downtown for up to a half an hour at a time for a week.  It was great, but pretty stressful trying to weave through traffic in NYC.  Yesterday was the start of what Kathie Lee and Hoda call “Tryday Fridays”, and I would like to continue the spree after finding Kimchee at TJ’s.  I would also like to pay a tribute to my favorite grocery store Trader Joe’s which has been in the news lately as the Canadians have realized what they are missing out on and have been crossing the border into Washington and selling truckloads of products to Canadians at a ripoff store.

Kimchi/ Kimchee/ Gimchi

IMG_2432 IMG_2433

According to Wikipedia it is just a fermented side dish often consisting of cabbage and spices.  Since the veggies are pickled, they last virtually forever and it comes with a lot of flavor making it an easy addition to a dish.  On the back of the package it says to add to rice or eggs so that is exactly what I tried first.  It took the eggs to a whole other level without having to add fresh veggies or cheese.  I went the most basic route for the first day of the experiment and I will be elaborating as it will be a staple in my fridge from now on.

My Review 

Pros: adds a crunchy texture to whatever you are making, usually served cold making for little preparation, spicy and flavorful, it is also very healthy.

Cons: Looks weird which can take some getting used to.

IMG_2435

I first had Kimchi on a drunken endeavor to the Hudson Hotel’s new tequila park where they have both common and “uncommon” dishes on the menu.  Of course it is overpriced (at $14 a serving), but it is where my love of Kimchi began.  I tried the Kimchi shrimp nachos.  Just trust me on this one it is a divine combination of spicy kimchi, guacamole, shrimp, and queso topped nachos.

 

 

Big City, Food, Fun, NYC, savory

For the love of Kimchi

Image

Leave a Reply

