GOOD MORNING! Kathie Lee and Hoda have been on my mind a lot lately so it is only right that I honor them today in the post.  Two days ago I ran into Hoda walking her dog in my neighborhood, today is Kathie Lee’s birthday, they talked about my viral video on their show, and I am sitting here watching their show now!

Here are the links to those interested in my video.  The one below is what Hoda and Kathie had to say about it!

I am so thrilled to return to NYC where there are so many exciting things, exciting things like Trader Joes!  They have so many things i want to explore so slowly but surely, I will be testing products and giving my opinions.  The first is turkey bacon, now I know that this is nothing new or special, but my test is in its preparation.  On the package there are three ways of cooking and I decided to try all three to see what gave me the most optimum results.

Prep #1 Microwave

  • Pros:  Simple and quick (1 1/2 min for 2 slices)
  • Cons: No crisp

Prep #2 Stovetop

  • Pros: some crisp.  Can use the same pan to cook eggs after bacon cooks.
  • Cons: Must pay attention and constantly flip slices.

Prep #3 Oven

  • Pros: Clearly the best results.  Super crispy.  Do not need to flip bacon at all
  • Cons: It takes too long by the time the oven is preheated at 375 and bacon cooks for 15 minutes my eggs have been cold for way too long.

Results- As one can assume the best method is the oven, although I thought the frying pan was perfectly acceptable.  I was shocked there was a big difference in all three methods, but it really comes down to personal preference and pickiness.

I know it is hard to see a difference in the picture but trust me it is there.  The bottom is the microwave, middle is the frying pan method, and the top is from the oven.

IMG_2442

 

That’s it from the 6X6 today have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

