Food, Fun, recipe, Sweets

Dad + Birthday = Chocolate & PB explosion

Well I had to post today because it is my dad’s birthday and although he hates gifts, he loves a good meal.  My job every year is to give him the gift of grub.  Last year I conquered the art of an amateur ice cream cake.  The only mistake was the frosting, but I will talk about that in a later post about birthdays I am sure.  This year I decided to grill some fresh italian sausages and other meats and fish from the famous Westside Market in Cleveland.  Of course we arrived on a busy Saturday morning where Food network was filming “No Reservations.”  We were able to buy fresh veggies, halibut, kielbasa, italian brats, sweet potato gnocchi, and so many other things I have yet to cook.  In honor of dad I will show you all of the great peanut butter chocolate creations I made and then the “healthy” goods like beet chips and cucumber salad later in the week.  

I have made four different homemade ice cream in the four days I have been in Ohio because I want to make the most of the fact that I have access to an ice cream maker! Photos from left to right top to bottom (no picture of #2 as it was not a winner)

 

IMG_2367

 

  • 1. peanut Butter Ice Cream with Oreos
  • 2. Vanilla Ice Cream with Reeses and Heath Bits (epic fail as I tried to use 1% milk and I did not allow the base to sit in the fridge) 
  • 3. Vanilla Bean Custard (meaning you have to cook egg yolks) with butterfingers and a whipped chocolate peanut butter swirl
  • 4. Peanut Butter Ice Cream with Reeses and a swirl of whipped chocolate peanut butter.

 

IMG_2372

I simply followed the recipes that came with the ice cream maker.  They really do have to be followed to a tee like a good baked treat.  Now I am sure they are online, so I just put a collage together of the three bases I made.  Then I simply mixed in all the add ins before freezing to harden.  Now I know most people are not about to make homemade ice cream as the ice cream makers are not a common kitchen gadget, but we sure get our monies worth in the Klinger household, and the ice cream is always a special treat at gatherings.

 

 

Oh My! I almost forgot to post about the last treat I made for dad with the leftover peanut butter since I usually only like all natural.  Simple yet delicious peanut butter blossoms!  I made the classic blossoms baking for 7 minuted in a 375 degree oven.  I also decided to roll a few in the leftover Heath bar bits I had instead of sugar.  I should have done it to all of them as I think they were the winners.

IMG_2364Peanut Butter Blossoms

  • 48 HERSHEY’S KISSES Milk Chocolates
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 3/4 cup Creamy Peanut Butter
  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/3 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tablespoons milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1-1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • Additional granulated sugar

I am not listing the instructions as it is such a simple recipe that can either be figured out by your own brain or Googles search.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY DAD

 

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

