Dining, Food, Fun, recipe, Sullivan, Sweets, Uncategorized

Boxed Betty Brownies Four Ways

IMG_2043Part of the reaon why I love the midwest so much is for the bulk shopping.  I was lucky enough to get my hands on a huge box of extra chocolate chunk brownie mix.  Well I came to find there were four separate bags, so I wanted to take on the challenge of making them four different ways.  I spent plenty of time looking up recipes for doctoring up a box, and although many sounded good, most were pretty plain.  Many called for andes mints, smores, and other simple mix ins.  I thought to start it off, I would make a traditional brownie and bump up a few ingredients.  Round two I tried the “coke” cake, where you do not need to add eggs or oil to the batter, but simply a can of diet coke I took that to another level and added peanut butter swirl as well.  Third round was a for birthday party (I know another) where the birthday girl requested a cookie cake and I though I would make a “brookie” cake because it could feed double the people.  And finally I made a batch of brownie pops straight out of the freezer because it is sweltering hot here!  There were a few bumps on the journey, but they were all devoured pretty quickly so come along on the food journey.

Round one: The Bumped up Brownie

IMG_2045

 

I wanted to know what these brownies tasted like before going too crazy experimenting so I followed MOST of the instructions.  My changes included adding vanilla extract to the

IMG_2044batter and sea salt on top along with underbaking the brownies.  When underbaking brownies, they must go in the freezer before cutting.  The only mistake I made was sprinkling with powdered sugar before letting the brownies cool.  They were still great especially with the sea salt.

Round Two: Diet Coke Brownies

IMG_2066

IMG_2067

 

My Thought behind this one was that I did not have much vegetable oil left and heard about coke cake, and it looked like a coke brownie was also possible without losing too much of the fudgy texture.  I also figured adding a peanut butter cream swirl would cover up the taste if they did not taste good plain.  I mixed peanut butter, milk, and powdered sugar together for the mixture.  To make it even easier I put the remains of the peanut butter in the microwave to soften it, then added the powdered sugar and milk and shook it up to avoid cleaning another item.

I decided to bring these to the green room to share them at intermission.

IMG_2069

IMG_2072IMG_2074

Round three: The Brookie

This one I sort of knew was going to be a disaster, but I wanted it to be in a round pan and I thought it would be too thin divided between two.  I started with a basic chocolate chip cookie recipe that I let sit in the fridge for several hours to hold its mold. 

IMG_2110IMG_2111

 

 

Then I poured a simple brownie mixture overtop and baked at 350 degrees for 40 minutes, then another 10 minutes, then another 10 and another.  Well you can see where this is going.  I didn’t want to overbake the cake, but it was already overflowing and still underbaked in the middle.

IMG_2112

 

The good thing is that it did not go to waste.  I just trimmed off the edges, sprinkled some powdered sugar on it, and fed it to the hungry boys in the house who ate the whole plate gladly!

IMG_2113

 

I flipped the “cake out of the pan and although it looks plain and overbaked, I decided not to ice or decorate it in fear of it being too sweet and I believe I made the right choice.  It was super crispy on the outside and ooey gooey on the inside and was one of the first things to go at the party.

I know its not the prettiest, but I think I am most proud of this one

IMG_2116 IMG_2117

Round Four: Buckeye Brownie Bites

For this one I wanted to make something that people can easily pop in their mouths and something chilled because it is starting to get hot outside.  I also like the fact that these could be easily transported.  I baked the brownies as directed with two eggs, oil, and 2 T water and baked only 35 minutes so they could easily be formed into balls, but still be crispy on the edges.  While letting it cool I used the extra chocolate chips as well as vanilla and peanut butter chips to dip the balls in.  I melted them in the microwave with a little veggie oil to make it silky smooth.  The only problem is that I was running out of both types of chips so by accident I created the buckeye brownie bite which is not something I found online.

IMG_2203

 

Top left : boring brownies

Top right: Brownie balls with semi sweet chocolate and sprinkles

Bottom left: buckeye brownies

Bottom right: plain brownie balls frozen

I prefer the peanut butter capped ones the best because the brownies still had crunchy bits as well as soft batter-like bits.

 

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

