Dining, Food, Fun, recipe, Sullivan, Sweets

Maple Apple Crisp

IMG_2144

 

I used to love apple pie, then I realized I really like the apple pie with a crumble topping, then I wondered what the point of even having a bottom crust in the first place.  This resulted in finding my favorite fruit dessert the simple apple crisp.  Mandy made this peach crisp (pictured left) and had some leftover oat crumble.  I took the leftover crumble and added more oats along with some cinnamon, vanilla, and a few raisins.  I had a bag of delicious crispy macintosh apples and blueberries freshly picked from a local farm I used for the filling.  As per usual I wanted to switch things up a bit so I added a maple syrup to the apples and cooked them down in a skillet before baking.  I have used this method before and I really like it because it allows room for more apples once the juices have drained.  I added the blueberries and actually waited until the next day to assemble and bake.  It still took a while to cook in a 400 degree oven about 35-40 minutes, but it is hard to overcook in my opinion.  

Ingredients

* As per usual I eyeballed all of the measurements and I used leftover crumble but I can list the ingredients

  • Apples (mine were HUGE so I used 4) peeled cored and cut into slices
  • blueberries
  • Cinnamon
  • Maple syrup
  • Lemon
  • vanilla extract

Crumble Topping

  • cold butter
  • oats
  • brown sugar
  • raisins
  • cinnamon
  • salt

IMG_2188

 

Look even though I drained the juices, the blueberries still gave it the perfect amount of moisture still allowing the top to remain crispy (it is an apple CRISP after all).  I am now ready for apple season to begin to make many more of these!

IMG_2183

Standard

Leave a Reply

