Dining, Food, Fun, NYC, recipe, savory, Sullivan

The Waldorf- Illinois Style

Well I am starting to really miss my NYC life, so as a toast to home I made a Waldorf(ish) salad based off the things I have in my Illinois Cabinet.  I was craving it again today so I repeated the recipe for a second day in a row.  The salad is also mentioned in Cole Porter’s song “You’re the Top” from the musical Anything Goes which I am currently performing in!

History

The Waldorf salad claims to have been invented in the 1890s in New York City.  It contained Apples, Celery, and walnuts dressed in mayonnaise.  The walnuts were not originally a part of the salad.

IMG_2141 IMG_2142

My Salad

Many current versions contain grapes, chicken, and a yogurt/ mayonnaise mixture along with vinegar and lemon for added flavor.  I took all these thoughts into consideration as well as what I had in stock in my pantry.

IMG_2146

IMG_2143

Ingredients

  • Grapes
  • Chicken
  • Apples
  • Cucumber
  • Lemon Juice
  • Light Mayonnaise
  • Apple Cider Vinegar
  • Salt/Pepper
  • Greek Yogurt
  • Dijon Mustard

By no means were all of the ingredients necessary, but it tasted amazing! I have no measurements because I eyeballed it all.  My thoughts behind the cucumber was that I did not have celery and I thought neither contribute taste wise but rather are there for the crunch factor.  I cooked the chicken in some of the extra dressing then poured the hot chicken on the cold salad.  This gave me sweet/salty, hot/cold, AND crispy/ chewy tastes.

IMG_2147

Fun Fact: the salad at the Waldorf on Park Ave is still on the lunch menu at $19 each!

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

