Breakfast, Food, Fun, recipe, Sullivan, Sweets

Trash Becomes Banana Bread Treasure

IMG_2114

Today is another sweet treat sort of day by default.  I am a big opponent of throwing out food that is about to go to waste because most of the time it can be easily frozen or used up in a recipe.  The most basic example is banana bread because bananas go brown so fast and people get grossed out by that very easily.  I had a friend Andy who knew this quirk about me and said he was going to toss three bananas unless I took them.  It was a busy day so I threw them in the freezer and figured I would come up with a recipe in a few days. I also started to run low on flour, but I had Bisquck (or pancake mix) left over from the pancake dippers I made and figured it would make it even tastier.  Well sure enough Bisquick has a recipe using their pancake mix for banana bread.

Pancake Mix Banana Chip Bread

  • 3 mashed bananas
  • 2/3 c sugar
  • 1/4 c milk ( I used almond because that is all I had)
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 2/3 C pancake mix

IMG_2115

 

Yep this one is pretty simple thanks to the help of Betty Crocker.  I decided to go with the most basic recipe as breads can easily become heavy, gummy, and if under baked just awful.  Basically I followed the recipe online and was happy with the results and next time  may make some add ins of cinnamon and nuts.  My goal was for it to rise and create one crack in the top. Look for yourself

IMG_2121

 

After 50 minutes in a 350 degree oven, it was perfectly golden rose beautifully and made one crack on top.  I put a sheet of parchment along the bottom edge and only two sides to allow the bread to still rise and it easily slid out of the loaf pan after letting it sit for about 15 minutes.  Then we had another birthday here to celebrate so i brought it over to Amanda’s party and everyone seemed to enjoy! I didn’t want to add too many chocolate chips because I didm;t want to completely cover the delicious banana flavor, but I realize I could have added a bit more.

IMG_2123 IMG_2124 IMG_2125

 

 

Standard

One thought on “Trash Becomes Banana Bread Treasure

Leave a Reply

