Dining, Food, Fun, Sullivan, Sweets

Red White and Blue Concoction

I know it has been a while since I last posted, but things have been a little crazy opening and closing shows.   Also I know it is cliche to post a patriotic recipe with berries, but it is happening.  Have no fear plenty of baking and cooking has been happening, but I am waiting for some big surprises to come later in the month.  I have still managed (thanks to the help of premade brownie mix) to make a few goodies.  Yesterday may have been a holiday and day off for most, but I was in tech and rehearsal until 6PM.  That gave me plenty of time to think of things that I had in my cupboard for the last minute party at 7PM.  I bought blueberries for my breakfast, I still had homemade jelly in the freezer, and I have white chocolate chips in the pantry ready for another recipe I plan on making.  Those things are all sweet and go together well so I figured with an oatmeal crust I could make some sort of American flag berry bar.  Usually I can look up several recipes and concoct a medley of them all, but this time there was nothing like it so I literally threw things in a bowl and created the treat without one.  

Ingredients

  • 1- 1 1/2C rolled oats
  • 1 C Flour
  • 1 Tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 6-7 Tbsp butter cut into bits
  • 3/4 to 1 C packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 Tbsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 C cinnamon sugar blend
Toppings
  • Blueberries
  • Jam (I used strawberry)
  • White chocolate chips

IMG_2090

Preheat the oven at 350 degrees

Cut the butter into all of the crust ingredients and combine until dough becomes crumbly

IMG_2091

press oat crust into the bottom of a 9X13 in baking pan lined with either foil or parchment paper (I chose the latter)

IMG_2092

Cover generously with jam and bake 25-30 minutes or until crust becomes golden on the edges and jam begins to set and bubble

IMG_2093

Decorate bars to your liking and bake another 5 minutes

IMG_2094

With one hour of free time, a party to attend, and no time to run to the store I say it was a great success

IMG_2095

Hope your day was as great as mine!

IMG_2097 IMG_2098

Standard

Leave a Reply

